What Is An Artists Role In Collectively Troubled Times Part II

by Edith Boyer-Telmer

Dear Friends,
in my last post called “What Is An Artists Role In Collectively Troubled Times” I shared that when ever I experience a universal download that is of collectively relevant information, and know that there is an article that needs to be brought on paper, I immediately feel an intense rush of energy flowing thru my physical body from the head to my toes. I than have to get up as quick as possible and start making notes on what I am sensing to be translated, in order to later be able and bring it into form as an article that makes sense to others.
Often I make sure that I catch the vibration deep within my body, by starting an intense breathing technique, which leads to my physical memory also kicking in, helping me to remember the details of messages received. As soon as I spoke about this feeling of something “coming over me”, I run into” this wonderful TED-Talk from Elizabeth Gilbert in which at mark 10:11, she speaks of the wonderful poet Ruth Stone and her experience with catching the genius of the universe.

Eden, Then And Now by Ruth Stone
In ’29 before the dust storms
sandblasted Indianapolis,
we believed in the milk company.

Milk came in glass bottles.
We spread dye-colored butter,
now connected to cancer.

We worked seven to seven
with no overtime pay;
pledged allegiance every day,
pitied the starving Armenians.

One morning in the midst of plenty,
there were folks out of context,
who were living on nothing.

Some slept in shacks
on the banks of the river.
This phenomenon investors said
would pass away.

My father worked for the daily paper.
He was a union printer;
lead slugs and blue smoke.

He worked with hot lead
at a two-ton machine,
in a low-slung seat;
a green-billed cap
pulled low on his forehead.

He gave my mother a dollar a day.
You could say we were rich.
This was the Jazz Age.

All over the country
the dispossessed wandered
with their hungry children,
harassed by the law.

When the market broke, bad losers
jumped out of windows.
It was time to lay an elegant table,
as it is now; corporate paradise;
the apple before the rot caved in.

It was the same worm
eating the same fruit.
In fact, the same Eden.


In The Next Galaxy by Ruth Stone
Things will be different.
No one will lose their sight,
their hearing, their gallbladder.
It will be all Catskills with brand new wrap-around verandas.

The idea of Hitler will not have vibrated yet.
While back here,
they are still cleaning out
pockets of wrinkled Nazis hiding in Argentina.

But in the next galaxy,
certain planets will have true
blue skies and drinking water.

My role in society, or any artist’s or poet’s role, is to try and express what we all feel. Not to tell people how to feel. Not as a preacher, not as a leader, but as a reflection of us all.
John Lennon

The poet, being an imitator like a painter or any other artist, must of necessity imitate one of three objects:
things as they were or are
things as they are said or thought to be
or things as they ought to be.
The vehicle of expression is language – either current terms or, it may be, rare words or metaphors.
Aristotle

You see a child play, and it is so close to seeing an artist paint, for in play a child says things without uttering a word. You can see how he solves his problems. You can also see what’s wrong. Young children, especially, have enormous creativity, and whatever is in them rises to the surface in free play.
Erik Erikson

What an artist is trying to do for people is bring them closer to something, because of course art is about sharing. You wouldn’t be an artist unless you wanted to share an experience, a thought.
David Hockney

I feel like my mission is to be honest with myself. My mission is to share my truth – share, not give. I think that’s what an artist is supposed to do: I think they share.
Gerard Way

I enjoy mediation. I think the artist’s position is often to mend the things we feel are broken. Whether that’s between two cultures or two thoughts. We’re always trying to reach, trying to expand something.
K’naan

If you live through the initial stage of fame and get past it, and remember that’s not who you are. If you live past that, then you have a hope of maybe learning how to spell the word artist.
Patrick SwayzeDear Ones, I hope you enjoyed this wonderful TED-Talk and the so very charming presentation from Elizabeth Gilbert. I hope you are feeling inspired now to listen closely to all the little signs and voices that are quietly whispering  to us of the divine plan for the Golden Age of Aquarius. I hope you will catch their voices in devotion, go out into the world and authentically express what ever has to be said and done for this planet to become a healthy one again.
Love and Blessings!
Edith

If you enjoy my posts, please sign up for my daily newsletter, JUST CLICK HERE & enter your e-mail. Please also like New Beginnings Guatemala on Facebook, and keep up the good work spreading the word ;-)! Feel INVITED to share this post also on your website or social media, just keep the links and credit active PLEASE! THANKS!

4 comments on “What Is An Artists Role In Collectively Troubled Times Part II

  1. Pingback: What Is An Artists Role In Collectively Troubled Times Part II — New Beginnings Guatemala | Blue Dragon Journal

  2. Pingback: The Power Of Poetry In The Human Awakening Process | New Beginnings Guatemala

  3. Pingback: The Power Of Poetry In The Human Awakening Process | New Beginnings Guatemala | dreamweaver333

  4. Pingback: Trees, Poems And The Collective Human Awakening Process | New Beginnings Guatemala

Leave a Reply

