The Positive And The Negative Side Of Silence – Part I

by Edith Boyer-Telmer

Dear Friends,
in many pieces that I am reading these days on the internet, people share information about silence and the beauty in experience as well as the health benefits of inner silence for the human being. I myself shared an article a while ago called Osho On The Influence Of Inner Silence On World Peace. In a spiritual sense of the words “inner silence”, we are talking about a state that allows us to receive and process the “outside world” as well as the “inner world”, from a place of observation and calm.
A state of being, in which this two worlds can melt back together, in the presence of purity and emptiness. In Buddhist teachings this emptiness is known as the void of creation itself, for many indigenous traditions it is the divine mother womb. All very beautiful, colorful and loving translations, when approached from of spiritual awareness.

On the material level of life, collectively there are some very different expressions and experiences connected to the word silence. I collected here 2 different dictionary explanations, so we can evaluate what the collective of human kind has agreed on so far.

Definition of silence according to the website dictionary.com:
1. absence of any sound or noise; stillness.
2. the state or fact of being silent; muteness.
3. absence or omission of mention, comment, or expressed concern: the conspicuous silence of our newspapers on local graft.
4. the state of being forgotten; oblivion: in the news again after years of silence.
5. concealment; secrecy. verb (used with object), silenced, silencing.
6. to put or bring to silence; still.
7. to put (doubts, fears, etc.) to rest; quiet.
8. Military sense to still (enemy guns), as by more effective fire.

Definition of silence according to the Merriam Webster Dictionary:
1: forbearance from speech or noise : muteness — often used interjectionally
2: absence of sound or noise : stillness in the silence of the night
3: absence of mention:
a: oblivion, obscurity;
b: secrecy weapons research was conducted in silence

I guess most people could agree on calling the absence of noise a pleasant experience; many moments of not talking as refreshing; but already when it comes to being forgotten – I think the character is changing – continually so with being brought to silence; and the even more disturbing mental union of “gun fire and silence”. I will continue on the details in a second post and leave the emotional expression to the below artists for now!

“Quiet” – written by Milck and AG
put on your face
know your place
shut up and smile
don’t spread your legs
I could do that

But no one knows me no one ever will
if I don’t say something, if I just lie still
Would I be that monster, scare them all away
If I let the-em hear what I have to say

I can’t keep quiet, no oh oh oh oh oh oh
I can’t keep quiet, no oh oh oh oh oh oh
A one woman riot, oh oh oh oh oh oh oh

I can’t keep quiet
For anyone
Anymore

Cuz no one knows me no one ever will
if I don’t say something, take that dry blue pill
they may see that monster, they may run away
But I have to do this, do it anyway
I can’t keep quiet, no oh oh oh oh oh oh
I can’t keep quiet, no oh oh oh oh oh oh
A one woman riot, oh oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh I can’t keep quiet

Let it out Let it out
Let it out now
There’ll be someone who understands
Let it out Let it out
Let it out now
Must be someone who’ll understand
Let it out Let it out
Let it out now
There’ll be someone who understands
Let it out Let it out
Let it out now

I can’t keep quiet

Dear Ones, I hope you are seeing yourself develop a clear voice an find ways of authentic expression  these days! May we all be blessed with the higher awareness of what it is that needs to be contemplated and translated in deep inner silence, and what it is we need to clearly raise our voice for and stand strong in our fiery desire for positive and peaceful change in this world!
Love and Quiet Prayers!
Edith

If you enjoy my posts, please sign up for my daily newsletter, JUST CLICK HERE & enter your e-mail. Please also like New Beginnings Guatemala on Facebook, and keep up the good work spreading the word ;-)! Feel INVITED to share this post also on your website or social media, just keep the links and credit active PLEASE! THANKS!

6 comments on “The Positive And The Negative Side Of Silence – Part I

  1. Pingback: Edith Boyer-Telmer – The Positive and Negative Side of Silence | Blue Dragon Journal

  2. Pingback: The Positive And The Negative Side Of Silence – Part II | New Beginnings Guatemala

  3. Pingback: The Positive And The Negative Side Of Silence – Part II | New Beginnings Guatemala | dreamweaver333

  4. Pingback: The Positive And The Negative Side Of Silence – Part III | New Beginnings Guatemala

  5. Pingback: The Support Of The Taurus New Moon Angels Has Arrived | New Beginnings Guatemala

Leave a Reply

