Guatemala – A Country Representing Humanity’s Eternal Double Morality

11by Edith Boyer-Telmer

Dear Friends,
about two weeks ago, I shared an article with you guys called “Reflection On The Current Energy Movement – A Spiritual Voice”. In this piece I gave some insides about the similarities I can see in the collective movement which is going thru the United States right now, and a violent incident that happened in my little hometown San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala.
I was surprised about some of the reactions in town, as I had the feeling people could still not see the double moral that our situation has been unveiling. And now I run into an article from a Guatemalan blogger, who took on exactly that theme from her own unique understanding of her home-country. Please dear ones feel invited to read her piece with open ears and eyes, the example is Guatemala – but the same expressions of inbalance exist all over the world right now!
Love and Awakening Blessings
Edith

This is an except of the article Melisa Rabanales wrote, translated by me. The original is in Spanish available at this link: medium.com
I lived in Spain for a few months and one of the main things that struck me was the costumes of Europeans. I was accustomed to a „good morning“, to a smile from all people, to the kindness and hospitality of my countrymen. To my surprise when I arrived, I ran into long faces and the coldness that only someone who has lived there can understand. I was walking in the streets without anyone looking at me, no one offered me a chair or exchanged a smile (except for a woman I will never forget, who without saying nothing stood next to me and shared her umbrella to cross a street). Of course, no one helped me when I was about to unboard a train and I was dealing with my three suitcases, because I had gotten into the wrong train department.
And that was what I missed the most, life was good but I needed that “Latin flavor.” When I returned to my country I felt a relief, the people thanked me if I gave way and greeted me when I entered somewhere. But of course, now I saw it with different eyes.
I come from a country where it seems that most people are friendly. However, we are one of the most violent countries in Latin America and the world, reporting up to 15 violent deaths per day. The people are warm and supportive, but there are grenades in markets and hospitals killing thousands of innocents and gangs do not hesitate to threaten, extort and dismember whoever gets in their way. We are speaking of hospitals where women have to give birth on the ground because there are not enough supplies.aSure, they do not throw the door in my face here, like they do in Madrid, but when a man opened the door for me in a 10-zone mall – the first thing he did was take a good look at my ass when I passed. Of course, the men here smile and give us their seat but in the transmetro masturbate and ejaculate on our pants. In Madrid nobody’s head would turn to notice me, in Guatemala I have to dodge the glances and walk with stones in my hands, only because its a hot day and I decided to wear shorts.
We boast that we are the most hospitable and empathic, when more than 60% of the population live in poverty and yet, the former president and the ex-vice liked to sunbathe on their farm in Zaragoza, which they went to by private plane one day after seeing newborns in hospitals sleeping in boxes because there were no incubators.
We are a society that invisibilizes, we attribute the overthrow of a president and forget that there were demonstrations, indigenous movements, that began long before us; but did not go on television, nor did they change their profile photo of facebook for all their friends to see their “political activism”.
Let’s not talk about unity when CACIF asks for tax exemption. When the arguments against pluralism are based on “because they will lynch”, but we are in favor of the death penalty. Or when we were outraged because they said that Tikal was from Mexico, but we believe that Mayan traditions are stupid and force our children to learn Spanish at school, because their mother tongue is “not good enough.”

I live in a country where the President of the Republic arrives dressed – or better disguised – in traditional clothing to present the agenda, but let someone ask the official bench what they think of indigenous justice. Than nobody wants to be so “indito”. I also live in a country where former soldiers, who are convicted for cases of genocide and crimes against humanity – came to the court house also dressed in typical traditional clothing; after exterminating the Ixil people and subjecting the women of Sepur Zarco, and who knows where else, to slavery.
My country is where the daughter of a former military man, condemned by genocide and now clinging to senile, asks for the “death penalty” as a solution to the murderers. In a country where those who are in favor of that penalty now come out as being “pro-life”. And vice versa as well. Oh, and by the way – these are the same people and pseudo MPs who refuse guaranteed sex education.
Where the army, as said by Manuel Jose Arce, “has bombarded miserable villages, tortured children, cut off the breasts of mothers, overflowing with milk” now scream in favor of life; and who swore not to allow the famous „ship of abortion“ to touch Guatemalan lands.
I live in a country where we blame women for being raped or beaten. Where we see people dying of hunger, where there are pregnant girls, a childhood full of work, an oppressive and dominant elite class that does not pay taxes. Where we complain about the traffic but do not mention the pilots killed in it. Where the right hand is corrupt and the left hand is also corrupt.bAnd I do not try to endorse a very civilized Europe here, because of all the problems it has and because a great part of its “grandeur” only exist – thanks to our countries. But what is true, and that I can say from my personal experience, is that there I never was threatened with a gun in the face to steal my cell phone, there are special lanes for people with disabilities and the elderly do not live hidden in their homes because the cities are not adapted for them.
And then I realized, that maybe I do not want them to smile at me, maybe it’s okay if they do not greet me when I am entering or if they’re not the warmest people in the world. Maybe I just want us to be more empathetic, that the children do not starve, that the daughter of the lady who works in my house has the same opportunities as me and that in the end, we can, even if we do not all agree, achieve to build a better country.
Because I feel disgust by this double standards.

Source Article in Spanish: medium.com

If you enjoy my posts, please sign up for my daily newsletter, JUST CLICK HERE & enter your e-mail. Please also like New Beginnings Guatemala on Facebook, and keep up the good work spreading the word ;-)! Feel INVITED to share this post also on your website or social media, just keep the links and credit active PLEASE! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

